RPS Leslie Boosey Award

Honouring champions of contemporary music.

The Leslie Boosey Award was set up by the Royal Philharmonic Society and the Performing Right Society in memory of the music publisher Leslie Boosey (1887-1979). It is awarded every two years. 

The award is not given to those who are primarily composers or performers, but rather to those who work ‘back stage’ to make an outstanding contribution to furthering contemporary music in the UK. Programmers, publishers, broadcasters, administrators, educationalists and representatives from the recording industry have all received the award.

Recent recipients of the Leslie Boosey Award have included founder and director of the Nash Ensemble, Amelia Freedman; Music Publisher, Bill Colleran; composer and administrator Colin Matthews; Gillian MooreStephen and Jackie NewbouldSally GrovesNMC Recordings and Sally Cavender.

The recipient receives a bronze eagle commissioned from the renowned sculptor Dame Elisabeth Frink.