The Salomon Prize

To highlight the talent and dedication within UK orchestras, the Royal Philharmonic Society and Association of British Orchestras launched this annual award in 2011 to celebrate orchestral players - the unsung heroes that make our orchestras great.

Named after renowned violinist Johann Peter Salomon, one of the founding members of the Philharmonic Society in 1813, the Salomon Prize is awarded each year to an individual musician who has shown commitment and dedication above and beyond the expected service asked by their orchestra over a single concert season. They will have been 'an inspiration to their fellow colleagues and engendered a greater spirit of teamwork within the orchestra’.

The Prize

The recipient of the Salomon Prize will receive £1,000 cash and The Salomon Prize trophy – a soft-ground etching of Salomon by William Daniell after George Dance made in 1810 - to be held by the recipient for the duration of the year. For full prize details, please download the Terms & Conditions below.

Who can be nominated?

The prize is open to orchestral musicians who are resident in the UK and is open to both members and non-members of orchestras.

Who can nominate?

Nominations are invited from any professional orchestra based in the UK that is a member of the ABO. 

Only one musician may be nominated per orchestra each year. All nominations considered are to be kept confidential from the nominees throughout the process.

Nominations can only be nominated by fellow musicians within the orchestra. Each nomination must be proposed and endorsed by five musicians in the orchestra and be submitted to the Chief Executive / Orchestra Director.

The Chief Executive / Orchestra Director will select the final nomination and submit the entry with the following:

1. A supporting statement from the five musicians proposing the nomination.
2. A supporting letter from the Chief Executive / Orchestra Director.
3. Current C.V. / Biography of the musician.
4. Any relevant press / publicity / interviews about the musician.

Nominations for the Salomon Prize have now closed. Information on how to nominate for the next Prize will appear here in summer 2017. 

►  Past recipients
►  Johan Peter Salamon

ABO Logo