The Salomon Prize celebrates orchestral players, the unsung heroes that make our orchestras great. The first prize was awarded in 2011, and is given jointly by the Royal Philharmonic Society and the Association of British Orchestras.

2016: Lennox Mackenzie, Violinist, London Symphony Orchestra

Lennox Mackenzie, sub leader of the LSO and longest serving chairman in the orchestra's history, was awarded the RPS/ABO Salomon Prize for his "innate ability, his love of music, and his generosity of spirit. Lennox has commanded the highest respect and authority with his colleagues in the orchestra, and with conductors and soloists. He is much respected and loved by the LSO’s wider family of supporters – sponsors, individual donors and Friends. He has wisdom, strength of character, good judgement and diplomacy that has served the LSO well over these many years.”  Read more.


2015: Graham Hall, Timpanist/Orchestrator, Sinfonia Viva

Graham Hall, a founding member and former Principal Timpanist of Derby-based Sinfonia Viva, was the RPS/ABO Salomon Prize, for his “hugely dedicated service to Sinfonia Viva over many years: as a timpanist, player and Musicians Union rep; and also as highly skilled arranger who has supported the orchestra’s extensive outreach work, and in doing so has inspired his fellow musicians to join him in going the extra mile”. Read more.

2014: John Cushing, Clarinet, Royal Scottish National Orchestra

John Cushing, who recently retired as Principal Clarinet of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra after more than three decades with the orchestra,  was presented with the Salomon prize on stage at Usher Hall, Edinburgh on Friday 27 February 2015 during a concert of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven conducted by Roger Norrington. John is the fourth recipient of the prize, following in the footsteps of outstanding musicians from the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, The Hallé and Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Read more.


2013: Catherine Arlidge, Violin, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Sub Principal of the second violins, who has played with the CBSO for over 20 years, has become the third ever recipient of the Salomon Prize. Catherine was nominated by her fellow musicians and the CBSO’s management for her creativity, energy and “great skill for motivating and inspiring colleagues and for engaging with her audience”. She has been instrumental in initiating and devising many projects and ideas to engage young people in classical music that are having a significant impact on the world of music education. Read more.

2012: Roy Benson, Double Bass, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Roy BensonFor the second year running, a double bass player has scooped the RPS/ABO Salomon Prize. Roy Benson was nominated by his fellow musicians and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s management for his unstinting service to the orchestra over three decades, and for a generosity of spirit and heart which has seen him, as co-principal of the double bass section, provide outstanding leadership and support. Roy was presented with his award by conductor, Paul Daniel on stage at the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s concert at the Cadogan Hall on Tuesday 30 October. Read more.


2011: Beatrice Schirmer, Double Bass, Hallé

Beatrice SchirmerBeatrice Schirmer was chosen from nominations received from orchestras across the UK. Beatrice, who has been with the Hallé for 19 years, was presented with her award onstage at the Hallé’s concert at Bridgewater Hall, Manchester - and live on BBC Radio 3 - on Wednesday 9 November 2011.  Beatrice was nominated by her fellow musicians and the Hallé’s management, not just for her considerable skills as a member of the orchestra’s double bass section, but for the extraordinary range of other activities which she has embraced and enriched in almost two decades with the orchestra. Read more.

More information about the Salomon Prize