Current Recipients

In June 2015, the RPS Sir John Barbirolli Memorial Foundation awarded grants to 16 students totalling £20,150 towards the purchase of better quality instruments.

RPS Sir John Barbirolli Memorial Foundation 2015

Jakub Chlepko - viola
Thomas Congdon - viola
Hannah Corcoran - alto saxophone
Matthew Farthing - xylophone
Hannah Foster - piccolo
Benjamin Garalnick - French horn
Daisy George - double bass
Robert Greenwood - oboe
Robert Lucas - Bb clarinet
Georgina Silverton - flute
Sarah Smith - alto saxophone
Benjamin de Souza - accordion
Melissa Youngs - Bb clarinet


Our special thanks go to the following organisations and individuals who contributed towards these grants: ABRSM, the exam board of the Royal Schools of Music; the Angus Allnatt Charitable Foundation; the Mercers’ Company; the Andor Charitable Trust; the Kirby Laing Foundation; and individual donors.