RPS 1813-2013

Wed 21 Jun 2017 18.00

Music of Today: Composers Academy

Royal Festival Hall

Price: Free


The Philharmonia’s innovative Music of Today series offers the chance to hear new music.

The culminating concert of the Philharmonia Orchestra’s Composers’ Academy, in partnership with the Royal Philharmonic Society, presents world premières from three emerging composers - Lisa Illean, Gareth Moorcraft, and Donghoon Shin - performed under the baton of Patrick Bailey.

The composers were three of six winners of the 2016 RPS Composition Prize for emerging composers. Over the course of the year the composers have worked closely with Philharmonia Orchestra musicians, the conductor, visiting composers and Music of Today Artistic Director Unsuk Chin. This is an exciting opportunity to hear the work of the newest generation of composers in the UK today.

Patrick Bailey conductor

Illean New work (world première)
Moorcraft New work (world première)
Shin New work (world première)

Music of Today is supported by the Royal Philharmonic Society.