RPS 1813-2013

Thu 02 Mar 2017 18.00

Music of Today: Isang Yun

Royal Festival Hall

Price: Free


The Philharmonia’s innovative Music of Today series offers the chance to hear new music.

We celebrate the centenary of Isang Yun (1917-95), a unique composer from Korea who became a leading figure in his German exile, where he was commissioned by the Berlin Philharmonic, a number of opera houses and major soloists. His scorchingly expressive music draws equally on elements of old Korean music and on avant-garde inventions: Teile dich Nacht is a haunting setting of Nelly Sachs’ poems, while Pièce concertante bursts with energy and playfulness. The programme is rounded off by a viscerally powerful work by Sukhi Kang, Yun’s one-time student and another major Asian contemporary.

Pascal Rophé conductor
Yeree Suh soprano
Philharmonia Orchestra

Yun Pièce concertante (UK première)
Yun Teile dich Nacht
Kang Mutatio perpetua (UK première)

Music of Today is supported by the Royal Philharmonic Society.