RPS 1813-2013

Thu 05 Oct 2017 18.00

Music of Today: Michael Daugherty

Royal Festival Hall

Price: Free


Matthew Coorey conductor
Robin O’Neill bassoon

DAUGHERTY Mermaid Avenue European premiere
DAUGHERTY Sing Sing: J Edgar Hoover for string quartet and tape
DAUGHERTY Walk the Walk European premiere
DAUGHERTY Dead Elvis for bassoon and ensemble

Michael Daugherty is one of the most widely performed American concert music composers of the last 30 years. Much of his brilliantly crafted and imaginative music refers to popular American icons, artfully blending nostalgia and sarcasm in equal measure. Mermaid Avenue and Walk the Walk make references to Woody Guthrie and Motown musical grooves, whilst pitch-black humour can be heard in Sing Sing: J. Edgar Hoover and Dead Elvis, a Faustian tale on The King of Rock ‘n’ Roll.

More information click here