RPS Leslie Boosey Award

Honouring champions of contemporary music.

The Leslie Boosey Award was set up by the Royal Philharmonic Society and the Performing Right Society in memory of the music publisher Leslie Boosey (1887-1979). It is awarded every two years. 

The award is not given to those who are primarily composers or performers, but rather to those who work ‘back stage’ to make an outstanding contribution to furthering contemporary music in the UK. Programmers, publishers, broadcasters, administrators, educationalists and representatives from the recording industry have all received the award.

Recent recipients of the Leslie Boosey Award have included founder and director of the Nash Ensemble, Amelia Freedman; Music Publisher, Bill Colleran; composer and administrator Colin Matthews; Gillian MooreStephen and Jackie NewbouldSally GrovesNMC Recordings and Sally Cavender.

The recipient receives a bronze eagle commissioned from the renowned sculptor Dame Elisabeth Frink.

Related Pages


Sally Groves, former Creative Director, Schott London: Schott first published Beethoven's Ninth Symphony. The RPS’s strong support for composers is definitely creating a future for music!


Before there were traffic lights: coachmen delivering audience members to Philharmonic Society concerts at the Harmonic Institution were asked to ‘set down and take up with their horses’ heads facing Piccadilly’.