2014: Conductor

Announced 5 May 2015
Sponsored by BBC Music Magazine

Andris Nelsons

"For his profound interpretation of a wide repertoire, most particularly Beethoven, Brahms and Strauss in 2014; his deep commitment to nurturing new works as evidenced in the recent premieres of Brett Dean and Hans Abrahamsen; and his transformative music-making with the CBSO; the 2014 award is given to Andris Nelsons."

Other Shortlisted Nominations in this Category

John Eliot Gardiner
Vasily Petrenko

Conductor Jury

Kathryn McDowell (chair)
David Butcher
Edwina Wolstencroft
Helen Wallace
Richard Hawley