New Generation Commissions

In partnership with BBC Radio 3 the RPS has commissioned 40 new chamber works for the outstanding young New Generation Artists since 2001. The most recent series of commissions was announced in May 2015, for performance in 2016/17.

Each of the new works is premiered at a public performance, broadcast, and subsequently recorded in the studio. It is the intention that the works should enter the regular repertoire of the performers.

Composers participating in the scheme so far have included:

Eleanor Alberga (Alexei Ogrintchouk - oboe and the Psophos Quartet)
Dominick Argento (Ronan Collett - baritone and Tom Poster - piano)
Tom Arthurs (Giuliano Sommerhalder and Tom Arthurs - trumpets, Richard Fairhurst - piano)
Django Bates (Alison Balsom - trumpet and Colin Currie - percussion)
Sally Beamish (Lise Berthaud - viola)
Richard Rodney Bennett (Jonathan Lemalu - bass)
Judith Bingham (Leopold String Trio)
Geoffrey Burgon (Christopher Maltman - baritone)
John Casken (Alec Frank-Gemmill - horn)
Francisco Coll (Peter Moore - trombone)
Brett Dean (Alban Gerhardt - cello)
Jonathan Dove (Kitty Whately - mezzo)
Johannes Fischer (Armida Quartet)
Dai Fujikura (Colin Currie - percussion)
Detlev Glanert (Ronald van Spaendonck - clarinet)
Alexander Goehr (Pavel Haas Quartet, Colin Currie - percussion)
Deirdre Gribbin (Quaturo Ebène)
Philippe Hersant (Cédric Tiberghien - piano)
Simon Holt (Belcea Quartet)
Leon Kirchner (Jonathan Biss - piano)
David Lang (Galliard Ensemble)
Stuart MacRae (Danjulo Ishizaka - cello and Martin Helmchen - piano)
Anders Nordentoft (Trio Ondine)
Michael Nyman (Kathryn Rudge - mezzo soprano)
Joseph Phibbs (Alina Ibragimova - violin, Danjulo Ishizaka - cello, Sharon Bezaly - flute, Cédric Tiberghien - piano)
Julian Philips (Lawrence Power - viola)
Matthias Pintscher (Benjamin Appl - baritone)
Karin Rehnqvist (Kungsbacka Trio)
Kurt Schwertsik (Narek Hakhnazaryan - cello)
Gwilym Simcock (Aronowitz Ensemble, Gwilym Simcock - piano)
Dobrinka Tabakova (Maxim Rysanov - viola, Katya Apekisheva - piano)
Eric Tanguy (Alex Slobodyanik - piano)
Augusta Read Thomas (Ilya Gringolts - violin)
Manfred Trojahn (Annelien Van Wauwe - clarinet)
Mark-Anthony Turnage (Ailish Tynan - soprano)
Rolf Wallin (Danish String Quartet)
Huw Watkins (Alina Ibragimova - violin)
Ian Wilson (Martin Fröst - clarinet, Pierre Lénert - viola, Cédric Tiberghien - piano)
Hugh Wood (Andrew Kennedy - tenor)
John Woolrich (Emily Beynon - flute)

The RPS is grateful to Colin Clark for his generous support of these commissions.

The New Generation Commissions are part of the RPS New Music Programme. We are extremely grateful to the trusts, corporate sponsors and individual donors who support the programme. Click here to find out more.

Related Pages


Graham Sheffield, Director of Arts, British Council: Nobody could ever have invented the RPS. I love it for the support it gives to musicians, and for its commitment to an inspiring future for music.


The early directors and concert conductors were given tickets made of ivory to gain them admission to Philharmonic Society performances.