Current Recipients

The current RPS Composition Prize winners were selected in June 2017 by composers Unsuk Chin, Zoë Martlew and Param Vir.

Bethan Morgan Williams

Commission: chamber work, Cheltenham Festival 2018 (supported by the Susan Bradshaw Composers' Fund)

Bethan Morgan-Williams (b.1992) is a Manchester-based composer of instrumental, vocal and electronic music. An inventive composer, finding motivation through a simple urge to provide performers with new and exciting music, she gained a scholarship to study at the Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM) under Gary Carpenter & Lelend Chen in 2010. Read more.

Laurence Osborn

Commission: chamber work, Music in the Round 2018 (supported by the Garrick Charitable Trust)

Laurence Osborn (b. 1989) read Music at Hertford College, Oxford, studying Composition with Martyn Harry and Martin Suckling, and graduating with a 1st in 2011. He then studied for an MMus in Composition with Kenneth Hesketh at the Royal College of Music, London, supported by an RVW Trust Scholarship and graduating with Distinction in 2013. Read more.

Freya Waley-Cohen

Commission: chamber work, Philharmonia Orchestra, Music of Today 2018

Freya Waley Cohen’s music has been performed in the Sage Gateshead, St John’s Smith Square, The Barbican Centre as part of the Sound Unbound weekend, The British Film Institute, The National Portrait Gallery, The National Maritime Museum and at Aldeburgh, Tanglewood, Dartington, Cheltenham, St Magnus, Ryedale and Spitalfields festivals ... Read more.

Eugene Birman

Commission: chamber work, Philharmonia Orchestra, Music of Today 2018

A composer of music of "high drama" and "intense emotion" (BBC), "at once, ingenious, hypnotic, brave, and beautiful” (Festival Internazionale A.F. Lavagnino), Eugene Birman (b. 1987) has written for symphony orchestras (London Philharmonic, Minnesota Orchestra), choirs (BBC Singers, Latvian Radio Choir, Eric Ericsons Kammarkör), and leading ensembles and soloists ... Read more.

Emmanuel Charalabopoulos

Commission: chamber work for the Presteigne Festival 2018 (RPS / Presteigne Festival Alan Horne Memorial commission)

Manos Charalabopoulos is a Greek-British composer, pianist and teacher. His compositions generally focus on the exploration of harmony and its relationship to formal narrative... Read more.

Austin Leung

Commission: chamber work, Philharmonia Orchestra, Music of Today 2018

In 2008, Leung was awarded a half scholarship to study in the University of Hong Kong, majoring in Medical Engineering. In his second year of study, he occasionally joined the university choir which served as the enlightenment of his music journey. Being inspired deeply, he started learning and practising music for around 6 hours a day. Two years later, he acquired his first ABRSM Grade 5 and Grade 8 certificates in both violin and music theory. Read more.

Related Pages


Anna Meredith, Composer: Composer in the House enabled me to push myself in new directions and be bold with my writing. Composers are very lucky to have the RPS!


The RPS is over 200 years old, founded in 1813 ‘to promote the performance, in the most perfect manner possible, of the best and most approved instrumental music'.