Sarah Lianne Lewis

RPS Composer 2021 | Commission for the Chorus of the Royal Northern Sinfonia

About Sarah

I’m a Welsh composer, originally from Aberystwyth and currently based in the Vale of Glamorgan. My musical language explores the boundary between acoustic and electronic sound, seeking to engage the audience in unique soundscapes and sonic atmospheres. My work often looks at themes of climate change, the natural world, and the human condition.

Over the last few years, I’ve worked with a variety of performers, audiences and spaces; from dense textural orchestral works in concert halls, to contemplative chamber ensemble works in a late-night gin bar, to expansive storytelling soundscapes through silent disco headphones under the stars. Whether working with world-class musicians or leading workshops with children, my creative practice incorporates collaboration at its heart, and seeks to empower and include all music-makers with a sense of ownership over the work.

Previous ensembles I’ve worked with include the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Quatuor Bozzini, Sarah Maria Sun, UPROAR, and Nevis Ensemble, and my music has been commissioned by festivals such as Cowbridge Music Festival, Heidelberg Festival, CNCM gmem’s ‘Les Musiques’, Festival d’Aix-en-Provence and the Lucerne Festival.


  • BBC National Orchestra of Wales Composer Affiliate 2020-24
  • Classical:NEXT Fellow 2021 (postponed from 2020 due to Covid restrictions)
  • RSNO Composers Hub 2018-19
  • George Butterworth award winner 2018
  • Sound and Music Embedded: Composers’ Kitchen with Quatuor Bozzini 2017

Find out more

If you are interested in finding out more about Sarah, hearing and keeping up to date with her work, take a look at her website and social media below: