RPS Emily Anderson Prize

£2,500 prize for an outstanding solo violinist

This Prize for violinists was established under the will of Emily Anderson, editor and translator of the letters of Mozart and Beethoven.

Who is it open to?

Solo violinists of any nationality based in the UK throughout 2020, with a maximum age of 28 at the application closing date.

Click here for a list of winners since 1967.

How can I apply?

Applications can be submitted by clicking the button below. Before submitting your application, please ensure you have carefully read the application guidelines.

The closing date for applications is Monday 19 August at 12pm.

Successful applicants will be invited to audition in London on Sunday 27 October 2019.

This prize is part of the RPS Young Musicians Programme. We are extremely grateful to the trusts, corporate sponsors and individual donors who support the programme. Click here to find out more.

Related pages


Ricardo Castro: International pianist who established a flourishing youth music programme in Bahià, Brazil. Awarded RPS Honorary Membership in 2013.


The RPS sent Beethoven £100 in 1827 to help comfort him when he was ill and much in need of money.