Past Chilcott Scholars

The following singers have received financial support from the Susan Chilcott Scholarship since the fund was set up in 2005.

In 2012, the Susan Chilcott Scholarships were replaced by a single Chilcott Award for a ‘major young artist with the potential to make an international impact’.

Gemma Summerfield- soprano

Soraya Mafi - soprano

Clare Presland - mezzo soprano

Duncan Rock - baritone

Magdalen Ashman - mezzo soprano
Magid El-Bushra - countertenor
Marta Fontanals-Simmons - mezzo soprano
Matthew Long - tenor
Ben McAteer - baritone
Ashley Riches - baritone
Kathryn Rudge - mezzo soprano
Adam Smith - tenor
Tristan Stocks - baritone

Gerard Collett - baritone
Rebecca Goulden - soprano
Gary Griffiths - baritone
Martha Jones - mezzo soprano
John Pierce - tenor
Natalya Romaniw - soprano

Rebecca van den Berg - soprano
Susan Boyd - mezzo soprano
Thomas Herford - tenor
Benjamin Hulett - tenor
Elisabeth Meister - soprano
Verity Parker - soprano
Anna Patalong - soprano
Duncan Rock - baritone
Matthew Sprange - baritone

Lee Bisset - soprano
Emma Carrington - mezzo soprano
James Cleverton - baritone
Rebecca Cooper - soprano
Jennifer Johnston - mezzo soprano
Katherine Manley - soprano
Rhona McKail - soprano
Andrew Radley - tenor
Emily-Jane Thomas - soprano
Adrian Ward - tenor

Claire Booth - soprano
Lorna Collins - mezzo soprano
Thomas Hobbs - tenor
Ruby Hughes - soprano
Huw Llywelyn Jones - tenor
Sian Meinir - soprano
Julia Riley - mezzo soprano
Elizabeth Traill - soprano

Joanne Boag - soprano
Katherine Broderick - soprano
Mark Chaundy - tenor
Stephanie Corley - soprano
Jennifer Johnston - mezzo soprano
Ronald Nairne - bass
Reno Troilus - counter tenor
Kate Valentine - soprano
Thomas Walker - tenor


Leslie East, Chairman of Association of British Choral Directors; Chairman of City Music Society: I support the RPS because it believes in supporting young musicians early in their careers.


The Schaller Bust of Beethoven, donated in 1871, has stood on the platform of every RPS concert since then as a symbol of excellence and support for the living composer.