Meet Our Young Musicians

Meet our current grant recipients, scholars and prize winners

RPS Julius Isserlis Scholarship 2019

Rosa Hartley
Finn Mannion
Ross Montgomery
Milo Harper

RPS Albert and Eugenie Frost Prize 2018

Barbican Quartet

RPS Henderson Chamber Music Ensemble Award 2018

A4 Brass Quartet

RPS Emily Anderson Award 2018

Maria Gilicel

RPS Allianz Prize 2018

Izabela Musial - bassoon

RPS Instrument Purchase Grants 2018

Archie Auger - Bassoon
Tyrel Charles-Murphy - Drums
Fresca David - Bb Clarinet
Ken Fairbrother - Violin
Carmen Farfan - Guitar
Connor Gingell - Tuba
Louise Hayden - Bassoon
Alexander Henshaw - Percussion
Chloe Hillman - Alto Saxophone
Jessica Hughes - Harp
William King - Trombone
Ashby Mayes - Bassoon
Samuel Middleton - French Horn
Jessica Muir - Violin
Samuel Ng - Cello
Abigail Pettican - Bb Clarinet
Isabella Ann Pincombe - Oboe
Megan Swift - Flute
William Whitehouse - Tuba

RPS Composition Prize 2018

Chia-Ying Lin
Benjamin Ashby
Alex Woolf
Daniel Fardon
Carmen Ho
Liam Mattison
Grace-Evangeline Mason

RPS-Duet Prizes 2018

Adam Possener - composition
Marie Sato - flute
Noah Zhou - piano

Rosie Johnson RPS/Wigmore Hall Apprentice Composer 2017/18

Edmund Hunt

RPS Julius Isserlis Scholarship 2017

Tom Pritchard - percussion
Richard Allen - harp

RPS Composition Prize 2017

Bethan Morgan-Williams
Laurence Osborn
Emmanuel Charalabopoulos
Freya Waley-Cohen
Eugene Birman
Austin Leung

RPS Instrument Purchase Grants 2017

Aaron Akugbo - C Trumpet
Alma Wilson - Bassoon
Hannah Parry - Recorder
John-Anthony Craig - Baritone Saxophone
Kaethe Uken - A Clarinet
Kristina Yumerska - French Horn
Luke Vice-Coles - Bb Trumpet
Mina Middleton - Piccolo
Oliver Smedley - Bass Trombone
Phillip Thomas Pike - Bassoon
Polly Bartlett - Oboe
Raymond Brien - Eb Clarient
Samrat Majumder - Classical Guitar
Sophie Donnelly - French Horn

RPS Albert and Eugenie Frost Prize 2017

Marmen String Quartet

RPS Henderson Chamber Music Ensemble Award 2017

Pelléas Enemble

RPS Emily Anderson Award 2017

Amarins Wierdsma - violin

RPS/Classic FM Classic FM 25th Birthday Commissions 2017

Alex Woolf
Alexia Sloane
Benjamin Rimmer
Dani Howard
Jack Pepper
Marco Galvani
Oliver Muxworthy

Chilcott Award 2016

Soraya Mafi - soprano

RPS Duet Prize for Young Composers 2016

Freya Ireland

RPS Duet Prize for Young Instrumentalists 2016

Sheku Kanneh-Mason


Peter Moore - trombone
Clare Hammond - piano
Anna Huntley - mezzo soprano

Related Pages


José Antonio Abreu, founder of the revolutionary Venezeulan ' El Sistema' which educates the poorest children in musical schools around the country: awarded RPS Honorary Membership in 2008.


During World War 2, when the BBCSO was evacuated to Bristol, the RPS stepped in to ensure that the 1940 Proms season would go ahead.