Meet Our Young Musicians

Meet our current grant recipients, scholars and prize winners

RPS Julius Isserlis Scholarship 2017

Tom Pritchard - percussion
Richard Allen - harp

RPS Composition Prize 2017

Bethan Morgan-Williams
Laurence Osborn
Emmanuel Charalabopoulos
Freya Waley-Cohen
Eugene Birman
Austin Leung

RPS Instrument Purchase Grants 2017

Aaron Akugbo - C Trumpet
Alma Wilson - Bassoon
Hannah Parry - Recorder
John-Anthony Craig - Baritone Saxophone
Kaethe Uken - A Clarinet
Kristina Yumerska - French Horn
Luke Vice-Coles - Bb Trumpet
Mina Middleton - Piccolo
Oliver Smedley - Bass Trombone
Phillip Thomas Pike - Bassoon
Polly Bartlett - Oboe
Raymond Brien - Eb Clarient
Samrat Majumder - Classical Guitar
Sophie Donnelly - French Horn 

RPS Albert and Eugenie Frost Prize 2017

Marmen String Quartet

RPS Henderson Chamber Music Ensemble Award 2017 

Pelléas Enemble

RPS Emily Anderson Award 2017

Amarins Wierdsma - violin

RPS/Classic FM Classic FM 25th Birthday Commissions 2017

Alex Woolf
Alexia Sloane
Benjamin Rimmer
Dani Howard
Jack Pepper
Marco Galvani
Oliver Muxworthy 

Chilcott Award 2016

Soraya Mafi - soprano

RPS Duet Prize for Young Composers 2016

Freya Ireland

RPS Duet Prize for Young Instrumentalists 2016

Sheku Kanneh-Mason


Peter Moore - trombone
Clare Hammond - piano
Anna Huntley - mezzo soprano

Related Pages


Ricardo Castro: International pianist who established a flourishing youth music programme in Bahià, Brazil. Awarded RPS Honorary Membership in 2013.


Voting for the RPS Gold Medal is still carried out using the original yes/no voting box.