In addition to its Board of Trustees, the Royal Philharmonic Society has a Council of eminent individuals who generously lend valued advice and support.

Lincoln Abbotts

Director of Strategic Development, Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music.

Anthony Bolton

Investment fund manager and successful investor. He has a passion for new music and composing.

Iain Burnside

Pianist, broadcaster, programmer. Chair of the Susan Chilcott Scholarship Trustees.

Sally Groves MBE

Former Creative Director, Schott Music. Sally has a lifelong, passionate involvement with the music of our time.

Leanne Langley

Cultural historian, writer and lecturer, with special interest in RPS sources.

Colin Matthews OBE

Composer and administrator. Founder and Executive Producer of NMC Records.

Chi-Chi Nwanoku OBE

Founder and Artistic Director of the Chineke! Foundation, creating Britain's first BME (Black and Minority Ethnic) orchestra; founder member of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment; teacher and broadcaster.

Tom Service

Writer and broadcaster. Presenter of BBC Radio 3’s Music Matters and The Listening Service.

Janis Susskind OBE

Managing Director of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd.

Atholl Swainston-Harrison

Chief Executive of the International Artist Managers’ Association.

The Royal Philharmonic Society is immensely grateful to Mary King, Colin Lawson CBE, David Long MBE, Arthur Searle and Laurie Watt who have stepped down from the Council in 2019 following many years of devoted support in their respective roles.

Related Pages


Kathryn McDowell, Director, LSO: The RPS has been a meeting point for musicians, composers and audiences for 200 years and remains a passionate advocate for music today.


Their Mozart and Beethoven Sinfonias blazed like a comet in our musical atmosphere - Spectator review - Philharmonic Society Concert 1837