Winners Announced at the RPS Music Awards

09 May 2017

Winners of this year’s RPS Music Awards, the UK’s most prestigious awards for live classical music, have been announced.

The winners of the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards, the UK’s most prestigious awards for live classical music, have been announced at a ceremony at The Brewery in the City of London (evening Tuesday 9 May 2017). This year’s awards, presented in association with BBC Radio 3, celebrate the unique experience of music-making and this year recognise outstanding musical achievement across the UK, with award winners chosen by independent juries of leading music practitioners from hundreds of nominations nationwide.

View the winners here

Silver lyre trophies were awarded to the 13 winners in a glittering ceremony and dinner at The Brewery in the City of London on 9 May. The evening also saw film maker, Barrie Gavin, presented with Honorary Membership to the Society - the first film maker to be awarded the RPS Honorary Membership. 

Speaking at the awards ceremony, RPS Chairman John Gilhooly saluted the shortlists and spoke of the power of live music:

"This year’s RPS Music Award winners take no prisoners, united in their excellence and their commitment to removing barriers to listening or participation in classical music.  The awards celebrate live music of extraordinary quality and ambition, taking place across the width and breadth of the country (closer to home than many might think).  I’d urge those who have yet to experience its multifarious pleasures to get out there and listen and make music, in the moment, of the moment.  Live Music Is… more vibrant than ever."


► See the full list of winners
Download the press release
About the RPS Music Awards

9 May 2017


Cathy Graham, Director of Music, British Council: That classical music has a vibrant future is very important to me. Supporting the RPS allows me to play a small part in ensuring this.


In October 1970, Lutoslawski's Cello Concerto received its world premiere, having been commissioned by the RPS. The soloist was Rostropovich, who received our highest honour, the Gold Medal, the same year.