Large-Scale Composition: Winners to date

2024 Kaija Saariaho: Innocence
2023 Gavin Higgins: Concerto Grosso for Brass Band and Orchestra
2021 Dani Howard: Trombone Concerto
2020 Frank Denyer: The Fish that Became the Sun (Songs of the Dispossessed)
2019 Rebecca Saunders: Yes
2018 Mark-Anthony Turnage: Hibiki
2017 Philip Venables: 4.48 Psychosis
2016 Luca Francesconi: Duende, The Dark Notes: violin concerto
2015 Hans Abrahamsen: Let me tell you…
2014 George Benjamin: Written On Skin
2013 Gerald Barry: The Importance of Being Earnest
2012 Jonathan Harvey: Messages
2011 James Dillon: Nine Rivers
2010 Kaija Saariaho: Notes on Light
2009 George Benjamin: Into the Little Hill
2008 Thomas Adès: Tevot
2007 Jonathan Harvey: …towards a pure land
2006 Julian Anderson: The Book of Hours
2005 Thomas Adès: The Tempest
2004 Harrison Birtwistle: The Shadow of Night
2003 George Benjamin: Palimpsests
2002 Peter Eötvös: Three Sisters
2001 Wolfgang Rihm: Jagden und Formen
2000 Gérard Grisey: Quatre chants pour franchir le seuil
1999 Henri Dutilleux: The Shadows of Time
1998 Thomas Adès: Asyla
1997 Colin Matthews: Renewal
1996 Michael Tippett: The Rose Lake
1995 Peter Maxwell Davies: Symphony No. 5
1994 Witold Lutoslawski: Symphony No. 4
1993 Magnus Lindberg: Joy
1992 Harrison Birtwistle: Gawain
1991 Poul Ruders: Symphony
1990 Olivier Messiaen: St François d'Assise

Related pages