Fanny Waterman

Honorary Membership of the Royal Philharmonic Society was presented to Dame Fanny Waterman at the Royal Hall, Harrogate on Sunday 17 July 2011.

The co-founder and Director of the Leeds International Pianoforte competition, pianist and teacher Dame Fanny Waterman has been made an Honorary Member of the Royal Philharmonic Societyin recognition of her outstanding services to music, and services to the piano in particular. The award, made by the society in 2010, was presented by RPS Chairman John Gilhooly at a piano recital by Andràs Schiff at the Royal Hall, Harrogate on Sunday 17 July.

In its citation, the Council of the Royal Philharmonic Society says:

“Over the years, several very distinguished pianistshave received Honorary Membership of the Royal Philharmonic Society: Ignaz Paderewski, Clara Schumann, Solomon, Gerald Moore, Claudio Arrau and Graham Johnson to name but a few. But arguably nonehas done as much to further the cause of the piano and piano playing as the indefatigable powerhouse that is Fanny Waterman. 
Both as a concert pianist, and later as a teacher, Fanny is led by her passion for music and rigorously high standards. Her status as a teacher is now legendary: she has inspired and instructed generations of musicians, both in person and through the millions of copies of her teaching books sold around the world.
Fifty years ago, together with Marion Thorpe, and her late husband, Dr. Geoffrey de Keyser, she founded the Leeds International Pianoforte Competition in her beloved Yorkshire, with which her name has become synonymous. She has nurtured it into one of the greatest international piano competitions in the world and launched the careers of such virtuosic young pianists as Radu Lupu, Murray Perahia, Mitsuko Uchida and Andràs Schiff.”

Related Pages


Dr Ahmad Sarmast: RPS Honorary Member and founder of Afghanistan’s first national music school in Kabul.


Voting for the RPS Gold Medal is still carried out using the original 19th century yes/no voting box.