COMMISSION: Jonathan Lloyd

Fri 17 May 2013 19.30

Barbican Concert Hall, Barbican Centre, London

Event Price: £10 - £30

Join the RPS for a concert that will feature a world premiere by Jonathan Lloyd, the current recipient of the RPS Elgar Bursary for the BBC SO winds. Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 2 is an epic, highly symphonic work, the longest written up to that time. Famous for the glorious cello melody that opens the slow movement as well as a corruscating and innovative Scherzo, this masterful concerto is hugely admired by Hough. Completing the cycle of Tippett symphonies we reach the first, a work conceived while Tippett was in prison as a conscientious objector and completed as war ended in 1945. Bursting with vitality and insistent rhythms, it has many of hallmarks of his later style, with a darkly Purcellian set of variations and a highly wrought double fugue to finish. Jonathan Lloyd: New Balls for winds - world premiere (RPS Elgar Bursary commission) Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major Tippett: Symphony No. 1 Stephen Hough - piano James Gaffigan - conductor BBC Symphony OrchestraJonathan Lloyd talks about his new works

How to Book

Call 020 7638 8891 or book online