Encore concert: Castalian Quartet

Sun 08 Jul 2012 20.30

Pittville Pump Room, Cheltenham GL52 3JE

Event Price: £15 (concessions apply)

Encore composer Giles Swayne's String Quartet No. 3 is one of three works performed tonight by the outstanding young UK-based quartet, the Castalian. Before the concert, ticket holders will have the chance to hear Giles Swayne discuss his music. Find out more about Composer in Conversation here. Hot on the heels of Hugh Wood’s brand new Ezra Pound settings from the BBC Singers, the Castalian Quartet brings to Cheltenham a piece that the 80 year-old composer first heard 50 years ago in the 1962 Cheltenham Music Festival. Then, two works united by dance: for Nyman, the particular rhythms of the South Indian Bharata Natyam shape a work written for the dancer Shobana Jeyasingh, while Swayne weaves the lilt of Waltzing Matilda through this rarely-heard quartet. Hugh Wood String Quartet No. 1 Michael Nyman String Quartet No. 2 Giles Swayne String Quartet No. 3 This concert will be broadcast on Hear and Now on BBC Radio 3, Sunday 14 July at 22.30.

How to Book

To book tickets, please click here or call the Cheltenham Festivals box office on 0844 880 8094