Salomon Prize - Roy Benson

11 Nov 2012

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's veteran double bass player Roy Benson has been awarded the Salomon Prize for orchestral musicians.

For the second year running, a double bass player has scooped the RPS/ABO Salomon Prize. Roy Benson, recently retired Co-Principal of the double bass section of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, follows in the footsteps of the first ever recipient, Hallé double bass player Beatrice Schirmer, to take the annual award celebrating the outstanding contribution of orchestral players to the UK’s musical life.

Roy Benson was nominated by his fellow musicians and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s management for his unstinting service to the orchestra over three decades, and for a generosity of spirit and heart which has seen him, as co-principal of the double bass section, provide outstanding leadership and support. Roy was presented with his award by conductor, Paul Daniel on stage at the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s concert at the Cadogan Hall on Tuesday 30 October. He received a cheque for £1000 and will keep the Salomon Prize trophy for one year.

The Salomon Prize citation from the RPS and ABO comments:

“For over thirty years, Roy Benson has given unstinting service to the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and his fellow colleagues. As co-principal of the double bass section he has consistently provided leadership and support, always accompanied with a smile and a positive energy that has helped this section particularly through difficult times. Always an inspiration, Roy was one of a few musicians who bravely cycled from Land’s End to John O’Groats in aid of the RPO’s Sickness & Benevolent Fund, outriding many half his age! This generosity of heart and caring nature are precious assets for any orchestra and are often unseen by the public eye. These qualities lie at the heart of any true musician and are why Roy Benson is awarded the Salomon Prize 2012.”

To read more about the Salomon Prize, please click here.

Download the press release


George Benjamin, composer, conductor, teacher, programmer: awarded RPS Honorary Membership in 2011.


In October 1970, Lutoslawski's Cello Concerto received its world premiere, having been commissioned by the RPS. The soloist was Rostropovich, who received our highest honour, the Gold Medal, the same year.