RPS Music Awards 2012 Winners Revealed

08 May 2012

The winners of this year’s Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards, the UK’s most prestigious accolade for live classical music, were announced on 8 May 2012 at the Dorchester Hotel, London.

Since 1989 the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards have recognised not only the calibre of today’s classical musicians but also those who push creative boundaries to produce work which excites and engages audiences.

Conductor Claudio Abbado and pianist Maurizio Pollini were the big name winners on a night that celebrated revelatory live music making. Pianist Mitsuko Uchida was presented with the Royal Philharmonic Society Gold Medal, the society’s (and one of classical music’s) highest honours. Wins for composers Jonathan Harvey and Sally Beamish, cellist Oliver Coates and chamber ensemble Apartment House made it a strong night for contemporary classical music. East London’s Spitalfields Music was the night’s only double-winner and the National Youth Choir of Scotland became the first large choir to scoop the coveted Ensemble Award.


View the full list of winners

Download the press release


The RPS Music Awards 2012 in pictures. Photographs by Simon Jay Price:

Winners and Presentation Ceremony Slideshow

Guests and Reception Slideshow



Dame Janet Baker CH DBE, legendary mezzo-soprano: awarded RPS Honorary Membership in 1987 and the RPS Gold Medal in 1990


Sing Up! won the RPS 2010 Education Award in for introducing high quality singing to millions of children in English primary schools.