2019: Chamber-Scale Composition

Sponsored by Boosey and Hawkes in memory of Tony Fell

For an outstandingly imaginative and engaging chamber-scale work receiving its first UK performance between January 2018 and June 2019.

Tansy Davies - Cave

Panel citation: A work of haunting, dramatic beauty that generates something truly transcendent from its minimal elements. Its riveting electronic soundscape reinvents the physical space in which the opera unfolds. Tansy Davies’ Cave is strikingly fresh and distinctive in how its luminous instrumental colours flower out of the electronics at its heart.

Also shortlisted:

The 2019 Chamber-Scale Composition Award was decided by an independent panel drawn from across the music profession comprising:

  • Clifton Harrison, viola, Kreutzer Quartet / Chineke!
  • Harriet Wybor, Relationship Manager, PRS for Music
  • Ken Hesketh, composer
  • Natalia Franklin Pierce, Executive Director, Nonclassical
  • Zoe Martlew, cellist / composer

The Chamber-Scale Composition category is kindly supported by Boosey & Hawkes in memory of Tony Fell, who was the publishers' Managing Director from 1974-96, and former Chair of the Royal Philharmonic Society.