2020: Chamber-Scale Composition

Supported by Boosey and Hawkes in memory of Tony Fell

For an outstandingly imaginative and engaging chamber-scale work.

Naomi Pinnock - I am, I am

‘Performed by soprano Juliet Fraser and the Sonar Quartett at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, this is an exquisitely-crafted gem, both hauntingly fragile and emphatically dramatic, that represents a real pinnacle for the composer.’

You can see the moment this award was announced as part of the full RPS Awards Presentation, broadcast online on Wednesday 18 November 2020.

Also shortlisted:

The 2020 Chamber-Scale Composition Award was decided by an independent panel drawn from across the music profession comprising:

  • Anne Rushton, Executive Director, NMC Recordings
  • Daniel Kidane, composer
  • Fiona Robertson, Festival Director, sound
  • Lucy Schaufer, mezzo soprano / Executive Director, Wild Plum Arts
  • Richard Uttley, pianist

The Chamber-Scale Composition category is kindly supported by Boosey & Hawkes in memory of Tony Fell, who was the publishers' Managing Director from 1974-96, and former Chair of the Royal Philharmonic Society.